Testimonials

spa1_suehudelson-5991Top rated MAUI SPA RETREAT is ranked #1 on the Island of Maui and recipient of the CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE from TripAdvisor for 2012 & 2013!

Just look at the plethora of rave reviews below and directly on our TripAdvisor page!

“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Worth every penny. The staff we very kind and caring. You get to pick the essential oil blend you wish to use for massage. I wish I would have tried more treatments, the couples massage was amazing. Beautiful and peaceful spa. Hope to come back one day soon!

***

“FANTASTIQUE!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Maui Spa Retreat was a spectacular way to end our beautiful trip to Maui. My husband and I had the most wonderfully decant couples massage. The customization of our essential oil blends combined with the seclusion of the spa made the experience just absolutely divine. We wish we lived in Maui as we would be at Maui Spa Retreat all the time!!

We will be returning for certain when we are back on Maui next year for our 10th anniversary.

Visited March 2014
***
“A Perfect Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 

Mahalo Maui Spa Retreat!!
I live here on the west side of Maui. When my cousin from Texas wanted to come to Maui for a vacation I decided we should do a “spa day.” After researching all the major hotel spas I realized I wanted to do something different because my cousin is a massage snob. This is something she does on a regular basis. After looking at the Maui Spa Retreat website I fell in love with their aromatherapy concept along with the beautiful upcountry (in Makawao) tropical mountain side view. The lovely view was a special bonus. Since our spa treatment was set for 3:00 we went shopping in the rustic, artistic towns of Paia and then Makawao. (Make time to do this)
Once we were at the spa we started out with a “private” dry sauna, followed by a “private” outdoor shower (my favorite part of the day). Then we went into our private spa room which had a huge window over looking the tropical hill side. It was simply breath-taking! We both had a rejuvenating facial with a scalp massage (another favorite) that nearly put me to sleep. Next came a wonderful, relaxing, detoxifying seaweed body wrap. Words can not express how memorable this “piece of paradise” was for both of us. This spa experience will be hard to beat. We both felt like it was the “best spa day” ever. So do yourself a favor and check out the Maui Spa Retreat website and book an unforgettable experience.

Visited March 2014
***
“Sandy M A more wonderful way to celebrate our 30th anniversary I cannot imagine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 

My husband and I traveled from snowy Rochester NY to the Maui Spa to visit a dear old friend and celebrate our 30th anniversary. We arrived late at night and awoke in the morning to the most magnificent views, bird song and floral smells imaginable. Our couples massage was the most individualized, thoroughly revitalizing massage I have ever had. Walking through the gardens and relaxing on the balcony outside our bedroom was at once a new experience of beauty and one that felt very old and restorative. I want to share this experience with everyone I love.

Visited March 2014
***
“What a wonderful Birthday Present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My session was a great treat. The experience was a birthday gift from a friend who knows how special Maui Spa Retreat is, and how greatly appreciated it would be.
Robin is an excellent therapist, and she was very sensitive to my needs. I had the wrap and massage….ahhh.
I look forward to the next time!
I love telling my B&B guests about this Upcountry Gem.
Do yourself a favor and book a little slice of Heaven.

Visited April 2014
***
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a rainy day on Maui so my husband and I decided to get a couples massage. Robin and Misty were fabulous! It was one of the best massages I have ever had! So relaxing! It made a soggy day wonderful! And even though we didn’t have the views the gardens around the retreat were beautiful! A little bit of a drive but worth it every minute! We will be back!

Visited March 2014
***
“Returning for our Annual Visit is something we both look forward to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We now have put this on our” Favorite things to do while in Hawaii” on our Annual visit . You can also stay at the Aromatherapy Institute of Maui located on the same property. We stayed in the Estate House, magnificent woodwork, spacious,peaceful and rejuvenating. We had friends visit as well, its perfect for entertaining with a beautiful gourmet kitchen. Topped the whole experience off with a magical massage at the amazing Spa, voted the Best Spa in Maui two years running. Its truly an authentic healing experience. We learn more about the aromatherapy plants grown on property each year, something new. This year olive leaf essence.

***

“An escape from commercialism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

When our husbands decided to fish all day, us gals decided a spa day was in order. We looked at the reviews on trip advisor and the Maui Spa Retreat was ranked at the top. It was not tied to a hotel and it did not include a health spa or pool so I was a little nervous about our choice.It was also not as expensive as many of the other options we researched- so I was not sure if that meant less of an experience in Maui. After I booked our treatments I learned the spa was nearly an hour drive from Lahaina where we were staying. I was nervous that our long drive to upcountry would not be worth our time but I was sooooo wrong. As we left the town of Paia, the countryside was mezmorizing – beautiful views, gardens, and horses. We quickly were finding our zen moment. When we arrived to the town of Makawao for a quick cup of coffee prior to our spa arrival, we felt at home. We only wish we had more time in Makawao to enjoy the artists, the shops and peacefulness of the commuity. We left the town in a hurry and drove up into the mountains – almost feeling like we were lost but getting excited to see what the next curve in the road would reveal to us. We found our little road (very little road) that took us down a steep drive to our retreat. The moment after we got out of the car, a joyful hippie chick came quietly towards us with her arms extended for a welcome hug. We entered into a darling little cottage surround by three radiant and healthy women who started our spa experience with the scents of the island, having us pick our choice for our massage and facials. It was very difficult to decide as they make all their scented oils from plants grown surrounding the retreat. We then were provided a rob and led to the sauna. After twenty minutes of a very warm sauna and baring our sunburned heines under a refreshing shower to the Hawaiian gods overlooking the exquisite turquoise ocean, we were led to our rooms for our treatment. Each of us compared notes to how we liked our massage, oils, scents, and facials. None of us, being the spa snobs that we are, were disappointed in any way. The Spa Day to the Up Country was worth every moment and every penny, including the gas that got us there. My recommendation is to take the time you need to enjoy your day – upcountry is beautiful, peaceful and glorious and your experience at the retreat will be the same.

Visited March 2014
***
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our visit to Maui spa retreat was a highlight of our vacation ,we will definitely do it again on our next trip to Maui. The view from the spa is breathtaking and the staff is professional and friendly.Using our phone GPS made it easy to find. You will not regret this wonderful experience.

***

“Splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Driving to the spa was a treat in itself, breathtaking, to say the least. We were warmly greeted in the parking lot by the proprietor and immediately felt the calm and beauty of this gem of a place. Incredible vistas from our personal rooms. Aromatherapy experience from our beautiful technicians for the three of us led to an amazing massage and facial.
This was truly a once in a lifetime experience.
If you venture to this beautiful island of Maui…..do not miss the Maui Spa Retreat!

Visited March 2014
***
“What a massage!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 

I recently was a part of a women’s wellness retreat at the Maui Aromatherapy Foundation. It was an absolutely perfect location for the retreat. While there, I also took advantage of the Maui Spa Retreat which was next door. I must say that the massage I had there was the best one I think I have ever had. It was absolutely incredible!!! Thank you, Shelly!!!

Visited February 2014
***
“Clear your mind and feel the calm…Ahhhhhh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I attended a wellness retreat at the Maui Aromatherapy Foundation. My trainer, Loa Blasucci of All Health’s Breaking Loose, La Canada, Ca, had painstakingly researched many sites before reserving the Grand Villa at the foundation for our group of 10 women. The foundation provided us with a lovely and private environment to relax, exercise, reflect and eat well. I treated myself to the signature massage at the conveniently located Maui Spa Retreat next door to the foundation. At the spa I was greeted by my massage therapist, Shelly. ( I hope I’m remembering her name!) After filling out a personal health inventory in a treatment room overlooking the lush and tranquil property, she lead me through a sampling of essential oils describing the benefits of each one. I chose Hawaiian Sandalwood…loved it. Next, I was guided to a different treatment room with an equally beautiful view, given a robe and water . A stop at the sauna was next followed by a shower in a private outdoor facility. Now I was ready for my full body massage. It was fabulous. My only regret was that I had requested the 50 minute massage…if given the opportunity , next time I will request 80 minutes! The benefit of the masssage and the 5 days at the foundation have stayed with me. I’m home and still feeling the calm. Yes, say , Ahhhhh!

Visited February 2014
***
“Sophisticated return to nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were luckily staying at the Maui Aromatherapy Foundation (glorious stays) so we were next door for our pampering session. There were 4 of us (70to11), who each got to choose our rubs and facial oils. All of these are made at the property. We were scrubbed, had a sauna, bathers on for morning tea (fresh fruit, yoghurt, coconut milk n bubbly waters) by the pools edge. The hot tub is HOT, so you truly need to dip in the atmospheric pool. We finished with a massage and facial and received gifts of the products used. The staff are truly “beautiful souls”. We felt calmed and invigorated.

Visited January 2014
***
“Awaken the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I visited Maui Spa Retreat for our anniversary looking for a relaxing and spiritual experience. We couldn’t have picked a better place. From the moment we set foot into the spa, we were in awe. The view was breathtaking. The spa itself is a little private treasure. Our yoga instructor Angel was excellent and the massage was the best massage both my husband and I have ever had. I would definitely return to this spa over and over again if I lived locally. Thank you for an amazing experience.

Visited January 2014
***
“Spa Bliss Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Maui Aromatherapy Foundation where the Maui Spa Retreat is located, so we just walked next door for our treatment. I had a 4-hour bliss-out package of body scrub, sauna, hydrotherapy (with coconut water, tropical fruit and to-die-for yoghurt served jacuzzi-side), foot massage, full body massage and facial and each element was amazing. The Masseurs are wonderful, the aromatherapy products that they utilise are scent-picked by yourself (there are about 12 different scents to choose from) and the location is delightful. What impressed me the most was just how caring everyone was – I truly enjoyed and appreciated every minute. Thank you so much to Doreena and all your lovely staff for making my 40th Birthday so special. I will be back to enjoy it all again!

Visited January 2014

***

“A truly moving experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I guess you could say that by the mere fact that my eyes welled up the minute I set foot in the entry I found the Maui Spa Retreat to be divine. It was a sensory implosion–the view, the colors, the calmness, the scents, the grace that radiated from the practitioners. I knew I had made the right call by bringing my two most inner circle friends here.

I found this place by excavating the internet-it is off-way off-the beaten path and I hope to some extent it stays that way. The directions to the Institute said it all “turn left at the golden sage bamboo” (or something like that).

We each partook in customized packages that filled the afternoon with luscious luxury. This experience was so well-timed in that the three of us has awoken at 2am to drive to Paia for the sunrise volcano bike ride tour and had already ridden 27 miles (albeit all downhill) that morning. After a delightful lunch with wine in town, we made our way to the retreat and could have stayed forever but hunger struck again and we had some of the best fish sandwiches on the corner grill in Paia.

The entire day was magical–including the little street of Makawao–not to be missed. It’s a jewel atop the hills and leaves you simultaneously relaxed and breathless…thanks for it!

Visited November 2013
“Give Yourself a Special Gift”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

On Monday I celebrated a very special birthday and my sweetie booked a day for us at the Maui Spa Retreat. It was simply an amazing experience. From the 1:1 yoga class with Ruby, to the sauna, salt pool, hot tub, a fresh fruit platter lunch on the patio, we were treated by such friendly and caring people. Chelleigh and Mahati were amazing at their massage practices and we enjoyed an excellent couples’ aromatherapy massage while feeling the ocean breeze through the windows. What a beautiful way to spend the day. I highly recommend this as a special treat to relax, reset and enjoy.

Visited December 2013
“Perfect spa for relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Starting with the initial call to book our appointment, the employees were so friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were all pleased to see that the spa was located in a nice secluded spot, and that it was very clean and had amazing bicoastal views of Maui. I had the Lomi Lomi massage and it was hands down the best massage I’ve ever had. If you’re looking for a nice refreshing experience, this is definitely the place!

Visited December 2013

 Amazing views & privacy!!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

When my friend told me to look for a spa, I immediately searched on Google. I found Maui Spa Retreat and read the reviews. All the reviews I read were 4-5 stars so decided to book an appointment. The minute we parked our car, we were greeted by one of the massage therapist. She guided us into the aromatherapy room & explained each & every one. Then we went into the cedar wood sauna which was amazing being it was my first time in a sauna. Next we were massaged side by side by the oil that we chose in the aroma therapy room. Mahati was my therapist & she was absolutely amazing. I chose medium pressure & she didn’t go any harder or any softer. I would definitely visit this spa again, and again, and again. Its a far drive but totally worth it.

Visited November 2013
“Alohaaaaaaa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Cool air, a stunning view, gorgeous aromatherapy and an all around magical experience. It was the perfect relaxing afternoon after our exhilarating downhill Haleakala bike ride…both activities are very close by so great to schedule them both on the same day if you are staying in Lahaina.

“Total relaxation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The spa is a true retreat as it is in the upcountry nestled between beautiful trees, fragrant plants, and singing birds. The aromatic spa package was sublime, as I was fully rejuvenated after my experience. They even relieved the tension in my wife’s back. I would recommend this spa over any other one in Maui. Worth every penny.

“A wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were given a gift for a couples massage and sauna at the Maui Spa Retreat. While we’ve lived on the island for a long time, we were not familiar with this beautiful property. We were in the spa cottage with a stunning view in a very private setting. A great gift for someone or for yourself!

“Most amazing spa day I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wonderful boyfriend scheduled the day for him and I to enjoy together and it was the most wonderful amazing spa day I have ever had. I have gone to several spas in the US and in Cancun but none could compare to this. We started off with a very relaxing sauna, then went to the lower level and enjoyed some fresh fruit, yogurt and sparkling water that the ladies prepared for us. Next was a dip in the jacuzzi and then to refreshing salt water swim. Then came the topper which was the full body from head to toe massage with oils and scents that were out of this world. I would highly recommend Maui Spa Retreat to anyone who wishes to be pampered and if a guy/gal wishes to score big with that special someone this is the way to go.

Thank you again Maui Spa Retreat
Sherry and Mike

“Heaven.”
5 of 5 starsReviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I love this place!! We come every time we are in Maui. A relaxing experience with a great massage in a tranquil and lush environment. The sauna followed by the secluded, open-air shower are the perfect way to relax before the massage, which was wonderful. The staff is very warm and our entire vacation was better for it. Definitely coming back.
It’s an interesting drive to get there but entirely worth the effort, so don’t let the steep inclines stop you.

Visited September 2013
“Totally relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great couples hot stone massage – we were delighted with the entire experience! Well worth the drive and time – thanks!

Visited October 2013
“Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I recently went to the Maui Spa Retreat and it was amazing. We choose the precious package and when we arrived we were greeted by their friendly staff. We love how they only book one couple at the spa at a time and we definitely enjoyed the privacy during our treatment. After our session my wife said that her message was the best she had ever had. We will definitely go back to the Maui Spa Retreat and it is a definite must do if you’re going to Maui!

Chris

Visited September 2013
“Wonderful End to Our Stay on Maui”
5 of 5 stars
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My daughter and I visited Maui Spat Retreat and had the the best massages that we both had ever had. The massage therapists were fantastic. My daughter and I were comfortable the minute we walked in. The massage room was totally calming with an absolutely beautiful view. It was also wonderful sitting in the sauna prior to our massages. I love the fact that aroma therapy is a part of their service. This was a perfect way to spend some time the day prior to our departure. The next time we visit Maui we will be including a visit to this fabulous spa.

Visited September 2013

“Amazing!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I reserved a couples massage here during our recent trip to Maui. It was her first time getting a massage and she was a bit apprehensive. Our therapists quickly put us at ease and tailored our massages to our preferences. Our package even came with a free sauna which was great. I would definitely recommend this place and my girlfriend already plans on making this a must do activity whenever we come back to Maui

“Heavenly!”
 Reviewed July 12, 2013

The atmosphere is incredibly relaxing and the massages are heavenly! I’m 5 1/2 months pregnant and the prenatal massage I had was amazing. They have a special pillow/table set up so you can lay on your stomach. The first time I visited was about a year ago and I will continue to come each time I visit Maui.

“Relaxing to the max!!!!”

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I spent almost the whole day and felt totally cared for. They were the best. It’s a wonderful place with great views, and a salt water lap pool that’s delightfully cool. We felt pampered and like we’d slept for a month afterwards. I highly recommend this spa.

“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our honeymoon stay in the Octagon Studio at the Maui Spa Retreat was the most wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the grounds were meticulously maintained, the accomodations were heavenly and the fragrances from the gardens on the property were pleasing. The couples massage one hour after we arrived was the perfect way to unwind from our 10 hour flight from Daytona Beach, FL. It started us on a most wonderful week of relaxation, romance and excitement. The daily meditation using the lavendar and many other oil frangrances distilled on the property and from the property’s gardens was part of our stay. It helped to clear our minds from thoughts of work, chores and the clutter of life’s everyday thoughts of “to dos” and brought us back to a relaxing state of mind that we continued to enjoy all week. Staying in the up country as opposed to the busy oceanfront resorts was the best decision we could have made. It was indeed like heaven on earth. We highly recommend the Maui Spa Retreat for anyone wanting a romantic, private setting filled with beautiful panaramic overlooks of the Maui isthmus and to experience the amazing therapeutic benefits of aromatherapy as only Maui can provide. Maloha to Maui Spa Retreat and to Tom & Doreena Barefoot, Tammi and the spa staff.

“Maui Spa Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This Spa is in Olinda with a beautiful view. I had the same therapist for each treatment. I did a scrub which was very nice followed by the Sauna, Shower, Jacuzzi and salt pool plunge. I was served a fresh papaya with banana, yogurt, dried nuts and fruit coconut water and sparking water. I than had an hour and a half massage followed by a facial. All the treatments where really nice. I would recommend and go there again.

“A restful week in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Maui is beautiful enough as is but spending the week at the maui spa retreat and Hawaii aromatherpy foundation brought it to an entire other level.

We had trouble prying ourselves from this beautiful place to return home!

The staff was amazing and very helpful…if you are trully looking for a restful yet very private vacation this is the place!

Thanks again to all of you for making this important event for us very memorable

“Refreshment above the clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited Maui Spa Retreat in July 2012. It was a rainy day in West Maui, so we opted for another spa experience at Maui Spa Retreat! We enjoyed the ultimate relaxing treatment–couples massage and facial. From the moment we entere the beautiful grounds, it was a private, comfortable, relaxing and refreshing experience. Our therapists were friendly and perfectly tailored our massages to our needs–aches and soreness from boarding and running just melted away!
Our only request–could we have a taxi or shuttle to drive us home?! We just wanted to lie there and take a nap after such wonderful care!
Maui Spa Retreat has become an integral part of our vacation experience…

“Majestic spa experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have never been more pleased, content or relaxed. These folks are truly masters of healing and relaxation!!! We will never go anywhere else for our spa needs in maui! ;) thanks everyone cant wait to see you soon!

“The perfect way to spend the last day of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I got a 90 minute massage at Maui Spa Retreat on the last day of our honeymoon, and it was the perfect way to end our vacation. We started out by smelling all of their essential oils (which they create on-site at their distillery) and picking which one we’d like used in our massage. Then we spent 15 minutes in their sauna and then we rinsed off in their outdoor shower. Our massage room had an amazing view overlooking the sunset in the valley. My husband and I both agree that it was the best massage we’ve had, and we liked the essential oils so much that we bought a bottle to bring home with us. We also spent some time exploring the grounds looking at plants and flowers we had never seen before. An amazing, relaxing visit.

 

“great massage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Today a friend and I had a very nice relaxing massage at Maui Spa Retreat in the Up Country with beautiful views. Vickie did my massage and was the best I have had, she made me feel very comfortable and relaxed. Rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly but still very professional. Would go back on my next trip to Maui.

“Amazing experience for our wedding gift!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a special wedding gift this was, we were privileged to stay in the main suite with majestic Olinda views of Maui from our bed and bathroom,(exquisite views morning noon and night!).

The following morning we joined in the most amazing activity , we experienced the whole process of distilling essential oils, led by Tom Barefoot (excellent guide that he was) we were taken around the gardens and introduced to the most incredible variety of plants that can be made into essential oils, all healing in their own way and and all with their unique and sometimes surprising scents. We picked the plants and distilled the oil and then were given our own aromatherapy spray to take home, Rose Geranium and Rosemary, ahhhh delightful. (fun and educational, great for all ages)

Later that day we were treated to the spa experience , a sauna and couples massage. We chose our own aromatherapy oil to be massaged with and then lay back and enjoyed the experience .

I highly recommend this to anyone who wants to have a unique, fun, educational, relaxing and enjoyable experience . Its a real treat!!!

“Dream of a honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We came as newlyweds and couldn’t have picked a better place to spend our first week as a married couple. Waking up to the beautiful views gave us a great way to start our day every day and the people there were really nice too! The gardens smelled wonderful and the breeze made it all the better.

Thanks again to Tom, Doreena, Tami, Jen, and even Cujo!

“Rejuvenating spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was one of the most relaxing experiences I’ve ever had! My sister and I started with a dip in their pool and hot tub, followed by a brief sit in the sauna, and finished up with excellent massages. The employees and massage therapists were extremely friendly and accommodating. We missed out on the view as it was a cloudy, rainy day but even in these conditions the location and scenery was beautiful. It was definitely worth the drive from Wailea.

“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a terrific spa – I cannot say more. It was one of the most relaxing experiences I’ve ever had and in an outstanding location with great views. The whole adventure, from choosing your oils and rub, to the wonderful work of the masseuses was over the top. Less expensive and I think way more value and better service than the hotel spas. Really personalized private attention that can’t be beat!

“One of the most complete and pampered spa experiences ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This spa experience for my husband and I was memorable. We both requested deep tissue massages, while he added a “Foot Love” massage and I opted for a facial. Prior to beginning, we spent some time in the sauna to relax and unwind. Next, we experienced one of the best deep tissue massages we’ve ever had! Both Challie (sp?) and Vicki pampered us with their attention to detail, knowledge and expertise. The hot towels for our hands, feet and faces were especially soothing and the selection of aromatherapy oils added to our experience. We would recommend Maui Spa Retreat to anyone who is looking for an escape from the hectic life we live, if only for a few hours!

“Serene Spa with wonderful Aromatheraphy Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The attention to detail throughout the experience is notable. European sourced, and organic oils of the highest quality are used throughout the treatment. Doreena is quite the alchemist and offers her own handcrafted products at the Spa store. The views of the valley and sunset each night in the distance are amazing. The Aroma Therapy distillation introduction was very informative and I recommend that as well, and you get to take home the days distillation in your own atomiser bottle.

“Awesome Spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My friend and I had an awesome time at this spa retreat. The massage was excellent, the view was breathtaking and the staff were friendly and accomodating. I would recommend this to anyone looking for some rest and relaxation.

“View that is out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This by far was my favorite way to spend time on Maui…away from all the resorts and up the mountain a bit! Tom and Doreena were wonderful hosts…this is a wonderful property and well kept in every way. The view out the bedroom window was priceless! We would look out the window to see where the weather was, and head the other direction for sunshine….way more reliable than any weather station!

My favorite part was the drive to and from…I loved that it took a few minutes to get anywhere…we passed by lovely farms and gardens all the way. I was able to pull over roadside to purchase varied produce items and even farm fresh eggs, all on the honor system! We will be back!

“Maui Upcountry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Aromatherapy Foundation of Maui. The accommodations were beautiful. We stayed in the Octagon Suite. While there we enjoyed the onsite spa services that were outstanding! The setting was peaceful with gorgeous views and the therapists delivered an amazing experience. We indulged in the Precious couples package that included a massage, facial and body scrub. An additional hour long foot love topped off our relaxing and de-stressing experience. A great way to start our vacation! I highly recommend!

“Best spa retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I had a salt scrub, body wrap, massage, facial….snack, amazing lunch, sauna, hot tub, privacy….excellent excellent, excellent! The view was incredible, everything was top notch. Our retreat began at 11am and ended at 4pm. The massage therapists were very friendly and always set our expectations so we knew what to do, where to go….we had a lovely, relaxing day…..they went above and beyond explaining the ingredients …… Very interesting, beautiful gardens, lunch on the deck with the most beautiful view…ever….we will be doing this again when we come to Maui! Highly recommend!

 
“Extra Special Spa Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This spa is marvelous, providing a terrific massage with many extra included touches like a sauna before hand, a hot tub after, and scent testing session where you can sample many different scents before deciding which you would like to use for the massage. I loved it so much, I went back for a second one the next week.

“Once in a Lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

we recently had the chance to visit Maui Spa Retreat back in Feb 2013. My boyfriend and I went with the ‘Precious Package’ and it was amazing! We were greeted by the resident dog, Cujo, and he was the cutest puppy and so friendly! The fact that we had the entire spa to ourselves was awesome! The sauna, the outdoor shower, the treatment rooms were so adorable and relaxing. The package was wonderful! I think my favourite part was being able to sit in the hot tub sipping coconut water, and enjoying local fresh fruit and yogurt looking out into the Makawao pastures. What a sight! I don’t think I will ever get to see something like that ever again… well at least until I return. Both therapists were friendly, knowledgeable, and we thought they were hilarious. All in all, you won’t regret it! You must try Maui Spa Retreat!

“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

First of all the location is stunning. The treatment room was beautiful and tranquil with an incredible view. But most importantly the quality of the treatments (combined Foot Love and Swedish Massage) were first rate. We felt truly taken care of and came away awestruck by the overall experience.

“Very highly reccomend Maui Spa Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I booked the “Precious Package” as a Christmas present for my Mum and I. Absolutely fantastic! Staff was professional and super friendly. The whole package was fabulous!
The spa is quite secluded, but we were able to find it quite easily with a map and specific instruction. Beautiful area! Facility is very clean and taken care of. If you do the hydrotherapy, make sure to try out the “Cool salt water lap pool” for at least one full lap. Invigorating!
Skip the hotel spas and take the time to climb up to Olinda Rd. and truly experience a spa retreat!
I will definitely go again next time we are in Maui!

“Spa Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Don’t even bother to go anywhere else for a massage! If you have the time this is the place for the best massage. It included a sauna, shower, fluffy towels,and your own choice of aromatherapy blend of oil, hot towels on your neck. head, feet and hands….PLUS the best massage I have ever experienced. Not too forget the wonderful ambiance and views from your table….what else can you wish for an unbeatable experience. Thank you Vickie for an hour and a half of blissful serenity.

“A very relaxing afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Aromatherapy – salt rub – sauna – open air shower – beautiful gardens, pool, and hot tub – great massage and facial – when can I go back???

“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was an awesome experience. Everything about it was first class. It was worth the drive up the hill to get the great views. It exceeded all my expectations.

“Wonderful massage experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the first massage experience for my daughter and her friend, and also for my husband. What a wonderful way to go! We had such care from the choosing of the essential oil fragrance to the warm towels on feet, hands and face during the massage itself.The view is lovely and the staff seem very knowledgeable.

“Fantastic Massage Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This unique spa is tucked away on the slopes of Haleakala above Makawao. The owner Doreena was very gracious and showed us around the property, which includes an aromatic herb garden. My wife and I had massages (starting with a sauna session) soon after arriving in Maui. Our masseuses Lisa and Vicki were experts, and gave us a thoroughly relaxing and rejuvenating experience, after they let us select the essential oils we liked. We enjoyed our experience so much that we decided to bookend our trip with a second session just before leaving Maui. It was a great idea, and the massages were just as great. We requested the same masseuses, who were nice enough to fit us into their schedules. I would recommend them and the place highly and without reservation.

“Rest & Relaxation at its Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We made the reservations for the spa 6 months in advance- all was well and they were ready for us- We had the place to ourselves- our deep tissue massages were some of the best we have ever had- then to experience the hot tub and non heated saltwater pool was Amazing!!
We were pampered like no place i have ever been- it was one of our TOP experiences while on Maui. We highly recommend the experience- We did not know they offer rooms/cottages to stay in also- so next time we are considering this place as our destination to stay. 2 Thumbs up
and 5 stars

“THANK YOU Maui Spa Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Do yourself a favor, and go to the Maui Spa Retreat. It is just nice to wind up Olinda into magical upcountry… Then, the welcome, the sauna, the massage, the aromatherapy! All of it – is wonderful. I could smell the lavender as I pulled into the driveway! Shelly was my massage therapist, and was amazing. She delivered exactly what I asked for, which was a “relaxation” massage. When she was done, I said, “I have only one question… Who’s going to drive me down the hill?!”. WELL DONE MAUI SPA RETREAT!

“Handled with Care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

There is a reason healing happens in retreat and there is a reason Maui Spa Retreat is far from the resort centers in a mountain sanctuary.

All the beauty that draws us to Maui is visible from this elegant perch – the colorful horizon, the isthmus with a bay of wildlife on one side and the bustle of commerce on the other, the West Maui Mountains afar and waving sugarcane below. But you alone are in this warm room with the sweet smell of hand picked flowers, bird song and the sound of the trade winds.

My massage therapist was more than that. She was sensitive to all of my “tenderness” and infused me with her own healing and handle me with care. The oils, lotion even the water felt fresh and pure. The esthetics were elegant and handcrafted. I left there feeling like a Queen from another time.

“Well taken care of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We felt wonderfully pampered at the Maui Spa. It sits upcountry with an incredible view and beautiful rooms. We were greeted with a wonderful smile, took a nice sauna and had a couple’s side by side massage. My masseuse had very intuitive, strong hands and used the perfect pressure, was thorough, nurturing and just what we needed.